Helping Rideshare Accident Victims
Companies like Lyft and Uber have been increasing in popularity over the last few years. They’re incredibly prevalent among visitors who want to get from one side of the city to another without going through the effort of renting a car. With so many extra vehicles on the roads, however, accidents become inevitable. When involved in a rideshare accident, it can be hard to know just who is at fault, what the compensation available is, and what next steps you should take.
Whether you were a passenger in a rideshare vehicle, a driver of a rideshare vehicle, or whether you were in your own car and involved in an accident with a rideshare vehicle, our firm can help. The Denver accident attorneys at Welsh Law, LLC. have the expertise and knowledge to facilitate a claim on your behalf if you were injured in a rideshare accident. Contact us at (720) 836-1777 today.
Colorado Rideshare Laws
While on duty, driving a customer, all Uber/Lyft vehicles and drivers have a $1 million insurance plan in order to cover any damages that occur due to an accident. This insurance plan applies to everyone involved in the accident, not just the driver and passenger. In addition to the $1 million, all rideshare drivers must have their own auto insurance just like any other Colorado driver. This often includes extra coverage in the case of an accident where the driver was transporting a customer.
In Colorado, there are regulations for rideshare companies beyond the amount of insurance they must provide. There are restrictions on who may become a rideshare driver and who may not. Anyone convicted of certain crimes, such as sexual assault and domestic violence, are prohibited from becoming drivers. People with any felony in the last five years are also restricted from driving for rideshare companies. According to Colorado regulations, rideshare drivers also have a legal blood alcohol limit of .00%. Rideshare drivers are not allowed to drive if they have had any alcohol.
All rideshare companies operating in Colorado are required to run criminal background checks on potential drivers. These background checks must go all the way back to when the driver turned 18, rather than the traditional seven years.
Who Is Liable?
When a rideshare company is involved in a car accident, it can be difficult to know just who should be held liable. Often times, the company itself will not be considered at fault for the accident. Unlike taxis, the rideshare company is not responsible for the maintenance and upkeep of the vehicle being used to transport customers. So, if the accident was due to vehicle malfunction, it is likely the driver should be held liable, as they are supposed to keep their car in good shape. Similarly, if the driver causes the accident, because they’re looking at their phone or driving under the influence, they would be responsible for any damages, not the company.
However, if the rideshare company breaks any of the regulations set for them by Colorado, then they are certainly liable. For example, if they neglected to run a background check on the driver, and it is found that the driver has a history of DUI’s that should have kept them from being hired, then the company is liable for any damages that driver caused.
Steps to Take After an Accident
First and foremost, seek medical help. Your health is more important than anything, and car accidents can cause injuries you may not notice immediately. If you can, take photos of the scene of the accident. Be sure to include any skid marks, the position of the vehicles, any injuries, the general damage done to the vehicles, and any other evidence you feel may be important. In order to keep roadways open and traffic flowing properly, police officers will often clear the scene quickly. This means they may inadvertently clear important pieces of evidence that can show who was at fault for the accident.
If there are witnesses, and if you are not too impaired by an injury, write down their contact information. They may be able to provide incredibly important insights into the situation and may prove crucial to your claim. Finally, contact a Denver rideshare accident attorney. At Welsh Law, LLC. we can start working on your claim immediately. The more time we have, the better the case we can put together.
How Can We Help?
A rideshare accident can have a devastating impact on your life. Injuries, medical bills, lost wages, and psychological trauma are just a few of the damages you may have suffered. You shouldn’t have to pay for someone else’s mistakes and poor choices, especially not if that someone is a large rideshare company. Call Welsh Law, LLC. at (720) 836-1777 if you or a loved one have been involved in a rideshare accident. We can help.